Critical Paradigm - Paradigm Shift In Critical Care

By Dr. Abdul S. Ansari in Centre for Critical Care

Apr 24 , 2023 | 3 min read

Critical care refers to the holistic and comprehensive care given to patients suffering from chronic medical conditions or severe injuries that require immediate medical intervention. Such patients are to be treated on an emergency basis and are directly brought to the Intensive care unit (ICU) or trauma centre where a specialized team of doctors is available 24/7 to handle even the most severe cases with utmost proficiency. Nanavati Max is listed amongst the top Critical Care Hospitals in Mumbai, which offers leading-edge facilities and a highly proficient team of doctors who work seamlessly to deliver the best care to critically ill patients and work with them throughout their recovery till proper rehabilitation.

Critical Care and Emergency Medicine in India has undergone a lot of changes over the past few years and is as diverse as the culture of our country. Initially, it was offered only at some numbered hospitals, however, the formation of the Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine has given an impetus to the speciality and it has grown to be a very important department which is listed among the core facilities of all the best hospital in India.

How the concept came into being?

The growing need for a separate medical unit that would offer closer attention to terminally ill patients gave birth to the idea of establishing Intensive Care Units, which was put into action in 1950’s with the establishment of the first ICU and this paved way for the development of critical care medicine which has been evolving ever since in terms of technological advancements and better understanding of various diseases and conditions.As per the best doctors in Mumbai, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that Critical care medicine is among the most rapidly growing specialities and it is clearly evident from the developments it has undergone in such a short span of time.

This progress can be credited to the growing zeal of the doctors to carter to the increasing needs of the patients and their zestto embrace innovation and technology for improving the health care scenario in general.

Types of critical/intensive care units:

1. Coronary intensive care unit (CCU or CICU) -The unit offers intense monitoring facilities and care for patients with a primary cardiac diagnosis. It is managed by a team of highly specialized physicians, doctors, nursing staff and patient care technicians who are trained with handling all the equipment.

  • Acute coronary care unit (ACCU)-The unit deals with patients suffering from acute myocardial infarction and cardiogenic shock as well as offers post-operative care for patients who have undergone open-heart surgery.
  • Subacute coronary careunit (SCCU) - Also known as Progressive care unit, it deals with patients who require cardiac telemetry such as in case of unstable angina.


2. Medical intensive care unit (MICU)- The unit offers round-the-clock care and services for patients suffering from a plethora of chronic medical conditions. The unit is managed by a team of experienced doctors and nurses who work in close collaboration. Some of the most common conditions treated here include respiratory failure, liver failure, acute renal failure, gastrointestinal haemorrhage, blood disorders, and cancer.

3. Surgical intensive care unit (SICU)-The unit offers pre and post-operative care for critically ill patients. The unit is managed by a team of surgeons and anaesthesiologists who are specialised in critical care.

4. Paediatric intensive care unit (PICU)- Managed by a team of paediatric intensivists, child consultants, nurse practitioners and respiratory therapists, the unit specialises in the care of terminally ill children including infants, toddlers and teenagers.

5. Neuroscience critical care unit (NCCU)- The unit aims at meeting the needs of severely ill neuro-medical and neurosurgical patients.

6. Trauma intensive-care unit (STICU)- It is a highly specialised unit where all the trauma patients with unstable haemodynamic status are brought for immediate treatment.

7. Neonatal intensive care unit (NICU)- Commonly known as an intensive care nursery, the unit specialises in the care of premature new-borns.

Reviewed By

Dr. Abdul Samad Ansari (Director of Critical Care Services)

Dr. Abdul Samad Ansari is the Director of Critical Care Services with an experience of over 21 years. He serves as a faculty and guide for various Critical Care Training/Fellowship programs. His speciality lies in mechanical ventilation, sepsis management and extra corporeal supports. He has been an integral member of several task force committees and helped to draft various policies till date. Hon'ble Governor of Maharashtra, Bhagat Singh Koshyari presented Dr. Ansari with 'Certificate of Appreciation, for his active involvement in the fight against COVID-19 in 2020. He has been the recipient of prestigious Chairman's Award 2020 in recognition of the outstanding contribution to Max HealthCare.

Subscribe to Max Blogs & Get stories like this in your inbox